About Us

Multi-Award winning Scottish / Irish / Australian band The BordererS formed in 1994 and have released 8 albums, 4 EP's, 2 kids albums and been included on 31 compilation albums all around the world.

The Borderers became a band by accident when Jim was backpacking in Australia in 1993 as part of a round the world trip. He says: “I was just visiting South Australia to visit a friend when I got invited to a recording studio to hear this band. I loved their sound so much that I eventually co-produced the album, married the lead singer and bought a house in Adelaide”.

Lead singer, Alex, was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland and came to Australia in 1987 and lists Annie Lennox and Joni Mitchell as major influences. Jim was born in Glasgow, Scotland and arrived in Australia on Christmas Eve 1993 and is influenced musically by AC/DC, Thin Lizzy, Status Quo and Talking Heads.

The Borderers run their own indie record label – Celtic Records – which to date has combined sales of 68,000 CD's & DVD's. This indie approach paid off recently when the band won the Independent Music Award in the US for “Sinner and The Saint” in the Gospel Music category. The song now goes out to 11 million people via Borders Bookstores and eMusic.com

The Borderers are well known performers at many of the world’s top music festivals having played Byron Bay Blues & Roots, Port Fairy Folk, Edinburgh and Womad Festivals in Australia and the UK – as well as touring Canada and the USA. They’ve also supported artists including Tom Jones, The Proclaimers, The Chieftans and Shane McGowan from The Pogues.

What sets the BordererS apart from other bands is their ability to get the whole audience involved.

"You must be dead if you're not seen dancing at a BordererS gig"
Jamie McKew - Port Fairy Festival Director (The biggest Folk / Roots festival in Australia)

Jim & Alex Voted Best World Music Act At the Musicoz Awards!

Press / Media Information

If you require high-res photos, biography, audio files, video clips etc…, please click here to go to the BordererS Electronic Press Kit at Sonic Bids or download the package from here. Latest press photography can be downloaded from here.

Tab Charts for Musicians

We made it easy for you to download our Tab Charts, you can now download them all at the same time. It's simple, just click here to download the complete list.


Jim Paterson - Acoustic Guitar, mandolin & Vocals
Alex - Vocals, Penny whistle & Bodhran
Gabi Carter - Vocals & Percussion
Steve Fleming - Bass & Fiddle
Jamie Patugalan - Drums
Richard Tankard - Keyboards


  • A Time For Change (CD)
  • Grace (CD)
  • Live...and more! (DVD)
  • Inspired! (CD)
  • Ticklish Allsorts 2 (CD)
  • The Gathering (CD)
  • Live at The Gov (CD)
  • Ticklish Allsorts (CD)
  • Woman (CD)
  • Independent's Day (CD)
  • Amnesty (EP)
  • Australia's Christmas Day (EP)
  • Back to Back (EP)
  • Fate (EP)